HomeReviews 3D scanners

3D scanners - Hands-on reviews, tests and ratings

We review 3D scanners on a regular basis in our testing lab. We believe hands-on 3D scanner reviews are valuable and allow us to share first-hand, unbiased experience with our readers.

Our reviews follow a strict test protocol designed to provide a fair benchmark to evaluate each product. We cover various aspects of the product experience, from unboxing and setting up the 3D scanner to evaluating the 3D scan quality and testing various features of the product, including the 3D scanning software. We score 3D scanners on a 5-point scale on each aspect to calculate the overall rating.
Shining 3D EinScan Pro 2X Plus review

Shining 3D EinScan Pro 2X Plus review

Published on: May 23, 2019

The EinScan Pro 2X Plus is a handheld 3D scanner for professionals that offers great value and performance. Read our EinScan Pro 2X Plus review here!

Read more
peel 3d review: a cost-effective handheld 3D scanner

peel 3d review: a cost-effective handheld 3D scanner

Published on: August 3, 2018

The peel 3d is a affordable professional handheld 3d scanner. Read more about our peel 3d sacnner review to discover its pros and cons.

Read more
[Hands-on] The RangeVision Spectrum, a desktop 3D scanner

[Hands-on] The RangeVision Spectrum, a desktop 3D scanner

Published on: February 22, 2018

The RangeVision Spectrum is a professional desktop 3D scanner by Russian manufacturer RangeVision. Read our hands-on review to find out more about this RangeVision 3D scanner.

Read more
[Hands-on] The Open Technologies Scan In a Box - FX, a desktop 3D scanner

[Hands-on] The Open Technologies Scan In a Box – FX, a desktop 3D scanner

Published on: January 15, 2018

The Open Technologies SIAB-FX (Scan in a Box - FX) is a professional desktop 3D scanner. We had the chance to try it out! See our hands-on SIAB-FX review.

Read more
[Review] Scan In a Box, an affordable yet professional desktop 3D scanner by Open Technologies

[Review] Scan In a Box, an affordable yet professional desktop 3D scanner by Open Technologies

Published on: September 18, 2017

The Open Technologies Scan In a Box is a desktop 3D printer geared towards professional users. Find out more in our comprehensive review of the SIAB.

Read more
[Review] The Shining 3D EinScan-SP, an easy to use and powerful desktop 3D scanner

[Review] The Shining 3D EinScan-SP, an easy to use and powerful desktop 3D scanner

Published on: September 5, 2017

The Shining 3D EinScan-SP is an affordable yet powerful desktop 3D scanner. Read our in-depth review for more details about our experience and tests.

Read more
[Hands-on] Test and review of the Creaform HandySCAN 700, a high end portable 3D scanner

[Hands-on] Test and review of the Creaform HandySCAN 700, a high end portable 3D scanner

Published on: April 10, 2017

The Creaform HandySCAN 700 is a metrology grade solution for professionals who work in industrial environments. Yet, it is remarkably light and easy to use.

Read more
[Hands-on] Test and review of the Creaform Go!SCAN 50, a professional-grade portable 3D scanner

[Hands-on] Test and review of the Creaform Go!SCAN 50, a professional-grade portable 3D scanner

Published on: October 30, 2016

The Creaform Go!SCAN 50 is a quick and accurate portable 3D scanner. It can use targets for an increased performance. Discover our review.

Read more
[Review] The Artec Eva, a powerful handheld 3D scanner

[Review] The Artec Eva, a powerful handheld 3D scanner

Published on: September 19, 2016

Artec Eva review: the Eva has is able to produce detailed 3D scans of almost all types of objects. We praise its intuitive and efficient software.

Read more
[Hands-on] Test and review of the Creaform MetraSCAN 750, an optical CMM 3D scanner solution

[Hands-on] Test and review of the Creaform MetraSCAN 750, an optical CMM 3D scanner solution

Published on: June 17, 2016

The user experience of the Creaform MetraSCAN 750 was really excellent, with a fast and efficient software, and an ergonomic sensor.

Read more
[Review] The Rangevision Smart, an affordable desktop 3D scanner

[Review] The Rangevision Smart, an affordable desktop 3D scanner

Published on: May 9, 2016

RangeVision Smart 3D scanner extensive test. We carry hands-on tests of 3D printers, 3D scanners and 3D filaments in our lab in Tokyo.

Read more
[Review] The Fuel3D SCANIFY, a lightweight portable 3D scanner

[Review] The Fuel3D SCANIFY, a lightweight portable 3D scanner

Published on: March 11, 2016

Today we‘re going to test the Fuel3D SCANIFY, an entry-level portable 3D scanner. This article aims to evaluate the performance of this 3D scanner in action

Read more
[Hands-on] The Artec Space Spider, a portable 3D scanner

[Hands-on] The Artec Space Spider, a portable 3D scanner

Published on: February 19, 2016

The Artec Spider ($22,600) and Artec Space Spider ($27,600) are the high-end products of Artec product line. They are designed for high-precision scanning

Read more
[Hands-on] The Shining 3D EinScan-Pro, an affordable and powerful portable 3D scanner

[Hands-on] The Shining 3D EinScan-Pro, an affordable and powerful portable 3D scanner

Published on: February 10, 2016

We were at Tokyo Big Sight event two weeks ago and we got the opportunity to test and try the new Shining 3D EinScan-Pro. Our feedback in one word: amazing.

Read more